2017 CVQO Duke of Westminster Award finalists announced

Simon Reeves - 3 May 2017

The moment you’ve all been waiting for is finally here – well, 30 of you at least. The votes are in and the 2017 Duke of Westminster Award finalists have been decided!

It’s always a very tricky decision to make, made even tougher this year by the fact that we had more finalists in Somerset than in 2016, but the final ten have been chosen.

Without further ado, they are:

Georgina Knapman - St John Wales, Llanelli Division
Casey Marchant - 2318 (Aberkenfig) Squadron Air Training Corps
Nancy McKenna - Consett Detachment, Durham Army Cadet Force
Phoebe Mercer - Ixworth Detachment, A Company, Suffolk ACF
James Rowberry - 233 (Pershore) Squadron Air Training Corps
Isabella Scanio - Rickmansworth Detachment, Bedfordshire & Hertfordshire ACF
Alen Thomas - 275 (Nantyglo & Blaina) Squadron Air Training Corps
Rebecca Tierney - York Sea Cadets
Jamie Tointon - Poole Detachment, Dorset ACF
Michaela Wyllie - London Fire Brigade, Croydon Fire Cadet Unit

Our congratulations to go these ten cadets, who now have lunch at the House of Lords in June and a trip to South Africa in July to look forward to.

Having received more nominations this year than ever before, it was extraordinarily tough to come up with our list for the selection event, let alone who should be the finalists.

We would of course like to be able to reward all nominees, but our congratulations and very best wishes for the future go to everyone who was put forward. You should all be rightly proud of your achievements.